Clubs and Activities

Clubs and Activities

Clubs and Activities

 

Clubs and Activities

The Middle School has many clubs, activities and sports for the students to take part in. Some activities are listed below with the club advisor/ contact assigned to them. If you have questions about any club or activity you can contact the advisor directly or call the main office at 607-786-8271.

 

Chess Club: Mr. Underwood; wunderwood@me.stier.org

When: Wednesday

Location: 213

Time: 2:30-3

  

Art Club: Mrs. Samiani-Grasso; msamiani@me.stier.org

Activities this year include Murals, District Artwork, Middle School Art Sale, Community Projects

When: Tusdays and Thursdays

Location: 109

Time: 2:30-3

 

Intramural Sports: Mr. Vachon and Mrs. Anastos; nvachon@me.stier.org, eanastos@ms.stier.org  

Intramural Sports offer students the opportunity to participate in many sports and recreational activities while developing a sense of community within the school. All skill levels are welcome to participate. The goal of intramurals is to nurture a healthy spirit of competition, sportsmanship, and teamwork. The games take place in the gymnasium during 10th period. Announcements and brackets will let students know when they compete. There will be a sign-up sheet in the gymnasium. Once completed, we will post a bracket/ schedule of when teams compete. Some intramurals will not be competitive.

 

Geography Bee Competition- Mr. Both; rboth@me.stier.org

School-wide competition that creates geographic awareness amongst all students. There are 2 champions per grade that compete to determine an overall school winner.

When: December 

  

MEMS Club: Mrs. Geertgens; mgeertgens@me.stier.org

When: Tuesdays; starting 10/10

Location: 227

Time: 2:30-3

 

Music/Productions: Mr. Backus, Ms. Pham, Mr. Parker;

mbackus@me.stier.org, jpham@ms.stier.org,

kparker@me.steir.org 

 

MEMS Jazz Band:

Extra-curricular instrumental music group, for 6th, 7th & 8th Grade. The jazz band rehearses weekly throughout the school year. Our rehearsals are typically Fridays from 2:30-4:00 p.m. Students rehearse various styles of jazz music including bebop, swing,funk, ballades, big band.. etc. Performances include but are not limited to the Winter Concert, Spring Concert, and M-E Night of Jazz Concert-MS. PHAM

M-E Pep Band:

Extra-curricular music group for grades 7 through 12.The Pep Band performs at football games, contributes to pep rallies, and participates in the Homecoming Parade and Halftime festivities. Other performance opportunities and parades may be scheduled throughout the school year.

Select Chorus :

Select Chorus is an auditioned chorus that meets twice a week during 10th period. We perform high-level chorus music for the winter and spring concerts, as well as at the NYSSMA festival and other events as needed. Any student is welcome to audition.

When: see Mr. Backus

Location: chorus room

 

Musical:

The MEMS musical is the fall show put on in November. Rehearsals run from September through November during the evenings. Students work together to learn songs, dances, lines, and staging, as well as work back stage and build scenery, to create two evening performances of the show chosen that year. Any student is welcome to audition for a role in the cast, or to sign up for stage crew and set design

When: September through November

Location: chorus room and auditorium

Time: 4-6pm

 

Play:

The MEMS play is the spring show put on in May. Rehearsals run from March through May during the evenings. Students work together to learn lines and staging, as well as work back stage and build scenery, to create two evening performances of the play chosen that year. Any student is welcome to audition for a role in the cast, or to sign up for stage crew and set design.

When: End of February through beginning of May

Location: chorus room and auditorium

Time: 4-6pm

 

Yearbook Club: Ms. Hitchcock; ehitchcock@me.stier.org

Yearbook Club is open to any middle school student. Students take pictures, choose layouts, and make important decisions that shape the yearbook, a permanent record of each school year.

When: Tuesdays 2-3 times a month

Location: Library

Time: 10th

 

Newspaper Club: Ms. Hitchcock; ehitchcock@me.stier.org

Newspaper Club is made up of students who are interested in writing and drawing. Students meet regularly to work on their contributions for the newspaper.

When: Thursdays, 2-3 times a month

Location: Library

Time: 10th

 

Odyssey of the Mind: Mrs. Dougherty, Mrs. Strong; kdougherty@me.stier.org

kstrong@me.stier.org

Odyssey of the Mind is based upon the idea that creativity is a skill that can be taught and further developed with practice.  The focus is to develop divergent, independent-thinking abilities (thinking outside the box, taking the path less traveled) through a challenging, but FUN learning process.  OM develops real-life communication and brainstorming skills, and rewards creativity and “calculated” risk-taking in the solution of complex problems

When: meets once or twice a week from October through March

 

Pushup club: Mr. Simek; msimek@me.stier.org

Pushup club is a personal fitness challenge to complete 10,000 pushups by the end of 8th grade. Students turn in a slip of paper at the end of each month with their monthly pushup total. If/when they make it to 10,000 their name will be announced during AM/PM announcments, they get a free t-shirt and their names goes on the wall in health class.

This club does not meet.

 

SADD: Mr. Simek; msimek@me.stier.org

SADD CLUB is Students against Destructive Decisions!

The club is open to any student grades 6-8 who is interested in empowering young people to successfully confront the challenges and pressures of their daily lives. Our goal is to spread awareness of potentially risky/destructive decisions through the use of school wide events.

When: Tuesdays

Location: 119

Time: 10th

 

Ski Club: Mrs. Spierling, mspierling@me.stier.org

Ski Club is available to grades 6-12. Packages/lessons are purchased through Greek Peak. Program runs THURSDAYS in January and February. Students must also pay a bus fee for transportation to the mountain. Early registration must be completed before 10/15 to get the discounted rate. Information will also be available at both the MS and HS Open Houses.

When: Thursdays, January-February

Time: 2:30-9:30

 

Video Game Club: Mr. Polhamus; npolhamus@me.stier.org 

When:6th Grade, Tuesdays, 7th and 8th, Thursdays

Location: 103

Time: 10th

 

Tri-Cities writing contest, Binghamton University: Mrs. Weyer; sweyer@me.stier.org 

The Binghamton University Poetry and Children Day is an annual event in which students from schools throughout the county create, write, present, and publish poems to be featured during a day of poetry readings at Binghamton University

When: Last week of May (TBA)

 

Science Olympiad: Mr. Tokos; jtokos@me.stier.org

Science Olympiad is an extra-curricular activity that is both challenging and fun. Participants choose from a wide variety of STEM activities that ends with regional competition in February. Teams may advance to States at a later date. Participants are expected to spend 2-3 hours a week of practice time. Science Olympiad is for grades 6 and up!

When: Varies

Where: Middle School

   

Student Council: Ms. Bowen: abowen@me.stier.org

MEMS Student Council is a club/organiziation open to all 6th, 7th, and 8th graders. The purpose of student council is to allow students to have a say and assist in school activities and projects. It provides a voice and shares the interests and ideas of students with the school.

When: Wednesdays

Location: 115

Time: 10th

Class Advisors:

6th Ms. Bramante – jbramante@me.stier.org & Ms. Heath – aheath@me.stier.org;

7th Mrs. Ocker – bocker@me.stier.org;

8th Mrs. Conrad – sconrad@me.stier.org

 

 

SPARTAN 300 CLUB

THE SPARTAN 300 CLUB IS THE OFFICIAL SPIRIT CLUB OF MAINE-ENDWELL. 

THE PURPOSE OF THE SPARTAN 300 CLUB IS TO SUPPORT ALL MAINE-ENDWELL ATHLETIC PROGRAMS AND OTHER EVENTS WHILE INCREASING UNITY AND PRIDE THROUGHOUT THE MAINE-ENDWELL COMMUNITY.  THE GOAL OF THE SPARTAN 300 CLUB IS TO HAVE 300 OR MORE STUDENTS CHEERING ON THE SPARTANS AT EACH SPARTAN EVENT THROUGHOUT THE SCHOOL YEAR.  BEING A PART OF SPARTAN 300 IS ALL ABOUT HAVING PRIDE FOR BEING A PART OF THE MAINE-ENDWELL COMMUNITY.  BY CHOOSING TO BECOME A MEMBER AND WEARING THE SPARTAN 300 SHIRT AT SPORTING GAMES AND OTHER EVENTS, YOU ARE

IDENTIFING YOURSELF AS SOMEONE WHO CARES TO UPHOLD UNITY AND PRIDE.  GO SPARTANS!

View text-based website